Cameroon – an invitation

 

 

Screen shot 2014-02-03 at 12.48.00 PM

I leave for Cameroon tomorrow – late.  My French ranks horrid to poor but I can order coffee and we have an interpreter.

This will be my second trip to Africa, the first to Uganda came as a surprise.  Cameroon is no different – it had been in the ether – talked about for months but never quite sorted until the very last minute.  This is how these things always seem to go.

Both trips serve the same purpose though:  to report on women/girls rights and the human rights abuses of the LGBT community.

I don’t know what to expect.  I am meeting with a group of rights activists from the faith community, the government, women’s rights groups and members of the LGBT community.  We have scheduled time to attend conferences, meet with the Embassy, travel to prisons and high ranking members of the Catholic Church.

It is a full schedule.  But I keep my expectations reasonable.  The meetings scheduled and the meeting made will probably not jibe.  That is the way it is.  All I can do is follow on this trip.  Uganda was different.  I drove the agenda.  I had my fixer, my driver/security sorted.  I had a plan.  I am going to trust that I will be taken (not kidnapped mom) on the journey I am supposed to take and report on the things that I am supposed to report on.

You can come along.

Starting tomorrow, I will be writing daily about my travels and experiences in Cameroon.  Much like a blog I kept for a long-term grant project in Mississippi, the posts serve the reader as much as me.   Thanks for following me to Yaounde.

Leave a Reply

